SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP > Client Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18/11/2017, 07:23 PM   #1
lucamsx
Huge Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 204
Reputation: 37
Question samp.exe connecting to random IP's

Hey everyone,
after a long break i installed sa-mp again. After opening the "internet tab", samp.exe starts a series of outgoing connections to (seemingly) random IP addresses - Malwarebytes Antimalware instantly blocks them. i managed to screencap a few of the MBAM warnings.

Most, if not all - haven't checked every single one - ip addresses are russian/ukrainian/lithuanian, googling these results in hosting websites, server forums or server advertisements on various sites. Why does it happen only with IPs from few specific countries, and what's with the port 63294? Has anyone had the same issue? Or it's just a some kind of false alarm?

lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:26 PM   #2
cuber
Gangsta
 
cuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 516
Reputation: 59
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

This never occurred to me. Where did you download GTA SA/SAMP from?
cuber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:33 PM   #3
lucamsx
Huge Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 204
Reputation: 37
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

samp installer - straight from sa-mp.com, GTA SA modded from a copy i kept on my pendrive with sa-mp stuff. Never had issues with it, also mods are just cars and weapons models, so i think that's not the case.
lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:35 PM   #4
Xhizors
Little Clucker
 
Xhizors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Reputation: 3
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

This happens when you opens Internet/Hosted tab? And this is a connection cookie from the client.
I have found that malwarebytes are too strict sometimes
Xhizors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:43 PM   #5
lucamsx
Huge Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 204
Reputation: 37
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

Tried messing around in Hosted tab - nothing happens. But then i opened Internet tab, few seconds and..

Also tried to connect with two of addresses in the first screenshot, but port has changed to 60856, moments later there was an attempt at port 49870.
lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:50 PM   #6
Xhizors
Little Clucker
 
Xhizors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Reputation: 3
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucamsx View Post
Tried messing around in Hosted tab - nothing happens. But then i opened Internet tab, few seconds and..

Also tried to connect with two of addresses in the first screenshot, but port has changed to 60856, moments later there was an attempt at port 49870.
I bet it is the connection cookie. The cookie happens on random ports from 60000 and up. And is used to get server info into the samp client.
I think Malwarebytes alerts because these IPs does have bad web-reputation score.

The IP adress below 93.170.123.206 has reputation score of 40 which is "Suspected"
Check yourself
http://www.brightcloud.com/tools/url-ip-lookup.php

And why does these IPs have bad reputation?
There is many reasons.. Maybe these IPs was used to spread botnets and phishing

In other words:
This is harmless for you. Your malwarebytes is notifying you these hosters has bad reputation than others.
Xhizors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 07:58 PM   #7
dugi
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,814
Reputation: 774
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

Looks like its a malwarebytes false positive, all those IPs host sa-mp servers and when you open the internet list the server browser sends queries to those servers.
dugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 08:05 PM   #8
lucamsx
Huge Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 204
Reputation: 37
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

So.. problem solved. Thank you guys.
lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 08:26 PM   #9
Kalcor
SA-MP Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 846
Reputation: 2533
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucamsx View Post
So.. problem solved. Thank you guys.
Problem solved? There was never any problem. It's the server browser behaving normally. It queries servers for information about number of players and ping etc.
Kalcor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18/11/2017, 08:42 PM   #10
lucamsx
Huge Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 204
Reputation: 37
Default Re: samp.exe connecting to random IP's

After explanation, by saying "problem" i rather meant the false positive MBAM warnings, not the queries itself.
lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAMP Only connecting to :7777 Norbii Client Support 4 29/05/2017 05:18 AM
Help with whirlpool connecting to php from SAMP kevin1990 Scripting Help 3 05/03/2015 03:49 PM
Dragging random peoples when they are connecting. why? :( ( BUG ) at my server PawnOX Scripting Help 12 21/06/2014 10:53 PM
Samp crash when connecting mahony0509 Client Support 3 12/04/2013 07:18 PM
random color on connecting omer5198 Help Archive 3 07/02/2011 05:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.