SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP Scripting and Plugins > Plugin Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26/08/2016, 08:42 PM   #11
dusk
High-roller
 
dusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,114
Reputation: 46
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

I recently tried using discord in a Lithuanian role-play server. Sadly the community rejected as it was to complicated for them...

I'd love to see some implementation of it in-game.
dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26/08/2016, 08:46 PM   #12
Crayder
High-roller
 
Crayder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Flames of Hell
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 589
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuthara View Post
On it
Wait, so you are going to make this plugin? Awesome! Can't wait to see it!

I was considering doing it myself too, but it'd take a while since I'm going to be pretty busy for a while. Especially no time for a plugin.,
__________________
Those who deserve reputation, do not need to beg for it.
Also, don't expect the help you need when offering reputation, you'll just be attracting Rep Hunters.
Join SA-MP Discord!
Crayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26/08/2016, 09:22 PM   #13
WhiteGhost
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

This would be good.

But i dont think anyone has the time to do it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26/08/2016, 10:02 PM   #14
SickAttack
Godfather
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5,126
Reputation: 752
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

How's it going to work? Voice chat in-game?

Last edited by SickAttack; 26/08/2016 at 10:35 PM.
SickAttack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26/08/2016, 10:03 PM   #15
Crayder
High-roller
 
Crayder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Flames of Hell
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 589
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickAttack View Post
How's it going to work? Voice chat in-game?
No, just text, obviously...
__________________
Those who deserve reputation, do not need to beg for it.
Also, don't expect the help you need when offering reputation, you'll just be attracting Rep Hunters.
Join SA-MP Discord!
Crayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26/08/2016, 10:04 PM   #16
SickAttack
Godfather
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5,126
Reputation: 752
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crayder View Post
No, just text, obviously...
What's wrong with the socket plugin then? You can use the socket plugin to create your own chat application.
SickAttack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/08/2016, 02:09 AM   #17
Lorenc_
High-roller
 
Lorenc_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,272
Reputation: 1129
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dusk View Post
I recently tried using discord in a Lithuanian role-play server. Sadly the community rejected as it was to complicated for them...

I'd love to see some implementation of it in-game.
very interesting to hear, particularly because their UI is very user friendly

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickAttack View Post
What's wrong with the socket plugin then? You can use the socket plugin to create your own chat application.
need to use websockets, I tried but couldn't work it out

whole reason it was in the plugin board is because it was a discussion thread in that board (suited the board's purpose very clearly and i checked the rules...)
__________________
Join the best Cops And Robbers in SA-MP, today. svr.irresistiblegaming.com:7777

Lorenc_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/08/2016, 02:14 AM   #18
arakuta
High-roller
 
arakuta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Itajaí - Brazil
Posts: 2,192
Reputation: 182
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Tried Discord once with my dota 2 team, but we still prefer ts3. The audio delay are larger than our TS server, even within same location... is that a common issue? I still like discord UI though.
arakuta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/08/2016, 03:11 AM   #19
Crayder
High-roller
 
Crayder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Flames of Hell
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 589
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickAttack View Post
What's wrong with the socket plugin then? You can use the socket plugin to create your own chat application.
A Discord plugin would save the messages like an IRC plugin. You wouldn't have to be in the server to see the messages (the same could be said for sockets, but it's not the same). Discord also has it's own bot system. There are a lot of reason I'd rather just go with Discord.
__________________
Those who deserve reputation, do not need to beg for it.
Also, don't expect the help you need when offering reputation, you'll just be attracting Rep Hunters.
Join SA-MP Discord!
Crayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/08/2016, 04:27 AM   #20
Sew_Sumi
Godfather
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Azerbaijan
Posts: 6,191
Reputation: 515
Default Re: Discord for SA-MP?

I figured with the IRC bot that comes with Discord that you can run the IRC plugin, and relay the channel to your discord.

But the biggest advantage is the invite system, where you can simply use that as your weburl, and be done with forums and all that crud almost.

permissions on Discord are way simple, and bots to moderate are even the same. Just takes a bit of work learning it.

As said though, best to just use the IRC bot and relay it to the discord. One player spamming the crap out of the game, will make your discord be a complete mess though as well.



I use Boobot with a few different configs to allow for multiple roles, one of which being the prune command.


Discord also allows for pinned messages, so that'd be the "If you cannot find me here, PM me, or drop me an email", and the rules of the sa-mp server/discord server/channels.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random View Post
this gamemode is so out of date and it isn't even comparable with todays other servers.
just because brain tricks us thinking that old days gamemodes were better then its just wrong, because funcinality was so poor, building new systems was very time consuming, because scripters didn't understand how to make gamemode to parts and simplify their work.
Jesus, that's a load of crap...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystallize
quote my big balls then
You must be looking at life through a microscope then, and not a tunnel as I had previously thought...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherRandom
I've seen threads where you make random brainstorms.
Pointing out larger issues with peoples code, and getting information about what is going on that could be causing issues elsewhere, is a sure way of actually getting the right information. Not just fixing the symptom, that will show up later as they try to expand.
Sew_Sumi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.