SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19/04/2017, 03:04 PM   #11
Blakecool987
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Reputation: 0
Default Re: Server Host

I'd say use around 3-4GB of ram honestly you can never have to much I'd say, But RAM does play a key part in your server performance depending on how large your server is I'd say it's best to have more

Coming from a Server Owner who had 60-100 player base daily on a role-play server.
Blakecool987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 05:32 AM   #12
Spoookymon
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 28
Reputation: 2
Default Re: Server Host

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakecool987 View Post
I'd say use around 3-4GB of ram honestly you can never have to much I'd say, But RAM does play a key part in your server performance depending on how large your server is I'd say it's best to have more

Coming from a Server Owner who had 60-100 player base daily on a role-play server.
if 3 GB of ram was enough for 500 players server on day one and 350 players avg. You must have been running super non optimized gm, unless there was like 300 npc running around the city.
Spoookymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 06:20 AM   #13
iKarim
Huge Clucker
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 485
Reputation: 82
Default Re: Server Host

It really depends on how optimized your gamemode & plugins is, for example, an empty gamemode running on 512 MB and a decent shared CPU VPS can handle 1000 players, while, another gamemode that uses MySQL, Whirlpool and other resource extensive plugins will crash with 10 players online due to low resources.
iKarim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 07:48 AM   #14
iLearner
Huge Clucker
 
iLearner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 360
Reputation: 78
Default Re: Server Host

512MB ram is more then enough for a damn SA:MP server with 100+ players.
__________________
iLearner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 08:59 AM   #15
ozm8ey
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 129
Reputation: 6
Default Re: Server Host

Quote:
Originally Posted by iLearner View Post
512MB ram is more then enough for a damn SA:MP server with 100+ players.
You serious? my minecraft server has 4gb with only 5-20 players and 70 plugins and when there is like 10-20 players online it only has 1.4gb free memory
__________________
My website
ozm8ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 09:01 AM   #16
iKarim
Huge Clucker
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 485
Reputation: 82
Default Re: Server Host

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozm8ey View Post
You serious? my minecraft server has 4gb with only 5-20 players and 70 plugins and when there is like 10-20 players online it only has 1.4gb free memory
This is SA-MP, not minecraft, kthxbai!
iKarim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 09:08 AM   #17
ev0lution
Gangsta
 
ev0lution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 701
Reputation: 373
Default Re: Server Host

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozm8ey View Post
You serious? my minecraft server has 4gb with only 5-20 players and 70 plugins and when there is like 10-20 players online it only has 1.4gb free memory
Minecraft uses approx ~100 MB of RAM per player on a vanilla server. SA-MP uses about ~2 MB per player.
__________________
ev0lution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 12:24 PM   #18
-Shifty-
Huge Clucker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 349
Reputation: 18
Default Re: Server Host

I don't think large servers such as UIF and ls-rp run on a simple or advanced VPS. A lot of ram isn't required but most processors are too weak.
__________________
-Shifty- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 12:30 PM   #19
Gamer_Z
High-roller
 
Gamer_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Posts: 3,608
Reputation: 1354
Default Re: Server Host

You can't go over 4gb ram anyway. So any server you see run uses less than 4 GB of ram.*

* - Unless they're using multiple processes to facilitate the server functionality and use, for example, shared memory/ipc/that sort of stuff.
__________________

Do not contact me for private help, please stop wasting your time trying to offer me a job
(Especially if you cannot pay the market rate for a developer)
If you are looking for scripters/mappers/staff/whatever look here
The only help I offer is my occasional reaction on the public forums
Gamer_Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20/04/2017, 12:35 PM   #20
iLearner
Huge Clucker
 
iLearner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 360
Reputation: 78
Default Re: Server Host

'Dedicated servers', ****** it.
__________________
iLearner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Host my server on my own host linux? Metharon Everything and Nothing 6 28/12/2015 11:28 AM
Can i host my server on my iPage host? FrankLucretti Server Support 2 06/06/2015 05:28 PM
Unknow Gamemode - Server don't start on host (volt-host) Ricop522 Server Support 14 03/11/2012 06:16 AM
can anywone help me with my server on volt host my server will not start [KING]Electronic Server Support 2 05/11/2011 02:25 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.