SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP Server > Server Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25/07/2012, 02:32 PM   #1
Siedler
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 65
Reputation: 0
Default SAMP CPU usage

Hello!

I have a question about SA-MP Servers.
Some Servers has big amount of players, how this can be held?
Since 0.3e max amount is 1000.


Example Test Server

Intel« CoreÖ i7-2600 Quad-Core
16 GB DDR3 RAM
1 GBit OnBoard with 100 MBits

for only SA-MP Server, Webspace and Teamspeak.

What happen`s if a Server reach >100% CPU?
Is this Root-Server ok for 500 Slots SA-MP, Forum and 250 Slots Teamspeak?
Or its to big/to small?
Siedler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25/07/2012, 02:36 PM   #2
lsfmd
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 116
Reputation: 16
Default Re: SAMP CPU usage

Actually, CPU usage depends on your script, the better optimized the less CPU, that should be more then enough to run what you're wanting.
__________________


Looking for quality, but cheap hosting? Look no further. Game Hosting Essentials has got what you need. 8 cents per slot servers! 24/7 Guaranteed up time and 24/7 support.
lsfmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25/07/2012, 02:37 PM   #3
Alex Valdez
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 111
Reputation: 22
Default Re: SAMP CPU usage

You can run this perfectly, I ran a 500 slot server and a 512 slot teamspeak server fine with no lag.
Alex Valdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25/07/2012, 02:40 PM   #4
Siedler
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 65
Reputation: 0
Default AW: Re: SAMP CPU usage

Thanks for answers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Valdez View Post
You can run this perfectly, I ran a 500 slot server and a 512 slot teamspeak server fine with no lag.
How much CPU usage you need with this full server?
And i think, my server is optimized, it need a`little more as the blank scripts in the SA-MP server package.

If the server reach >100% it crashes? Or uses then other cores?
Siedler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25/07/2012, 03:20 PM   #5
iLinx
High-roller
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,523
Reputation: 155
Default Re: AW: Re: SAMP CPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siedler View Post
Thanks for answers



How much CPU usage you need with this full server?
And i think, my server is optimized, it need a`little more as the blank scripts in the SA-MP server package.

If the server reach >100% it crashes? Or uses then other cores?
CPU usage depends on the script. SA:MP uses a single thread only so only one core (I suggest disabling hyperthreading on that CPU if you do start getting 500+ players). That being said, the CPU you listed should be fine. The Sandy Bridge CPUs can handle 500-1000 players without a problem given you dont overload on Disk I/O. Web and TS3 should be fine as well, they don't use that much traffic (if you find you need to optimize your web, run nginx instead of apache).
__________________
Servers in Arizona, Virginia, Quebec (Canada), United Kingdom, Netherlands. Over 12,000 served. Free cPanel web hosting is included with ALL servers. Facebook. Twitter.
iLinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25/07/2012, 03:27 PM   #6
Babul
High-roller
 
Babul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: in a cement block
Posts: 1,925
Reputation: 251
Default Re: SAMP CPU usage

i want to mention that as soon your CPU usage goes upto 100%, it will simply run the script on slower speed: the server will send all data to players with some delay, and the data sent from players to the server will get processed at a later time aswell.
like if some players are racing, then the checkpoints will popup later, and when entering a checkpoint, it will get recognized at later time..
the most lag causing routines are player-loops - they can get called quite often (let 500 players type /wave in the same second).
__________________
FireWorks

new sscanf2 custom specifiers available for Download, read the Release Topic
Babul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/07/2012, 04:08 PM   #7
Siedler
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 65
Reputation: 0
Default AW: SAMP CPU usage

thanks for answers!
then im buying this server for only 500 slot SA:MP and 500 slot Teamspeak3.
for the webspace im buying a vserver.

is the connection also good enough?
1 GBit OnBoard with 100 MBits
or i need 1000 MBits (1 GBits)
Siedler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/07/2012, 04:46 PM   #8
ColorHost-Kevin
High-roller
 
ColorHost-Kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hollywood,MD
Posts: 1,579
Reputation: 138
Default Re: SAMP CPU usage

That connection speed is perfectly fine for hosting websites.
__________________
█| Colorhost Premium Web Hosting And Cheap SAMP Servers in US and NL! 100 Slots For $7.95! With Hosted tab for $12.35!
█| Offering Services to customers since 2009! - Now Supporting mobile payments,Direct Credit Card Payments and BitCoin!
█| Contact: Kevin H. ColorHost CEO kevin@colorhost.co or US Number
█| (559) 412-5194 or UK Phone 0121 288 4857 Extension Number 95 For Kevin.
█| Teamspeak Hosting - 32 slots for $5.75 - Issues With Volt-Host? Use VOLT For 50% off! - We do Custom slot plans too!
ColorHost-Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27/07/2012, 05:22 PM   #9
Siedler
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 65
Reputation: 0
Default AW: Re: SAMP CPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColorHost-Kevin View Post
That connection speed is perfectly fine for hosting websites.
i mean, for the Game Server (SA:MP, TS3).
for the web i know, that is good
Siedler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28/07/2012, 10:32 AM   #10
Jake187
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 140
Reputation: 26
Default Re: SAMP CPU usage

A regular SAMP server doesn't use more than about 30 mbits with 500 players online. And don't quote me on that, I just say that's likely the highest it would go.
__________________

Jake187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Tutorial] SA:MP Images usage, list and usage. Partner Tutorials 22 14/12/2012 12:19 PM
samp server Bandwidth usage Unknownich Server Support 14 28/05/2012 05:42 PM
CPU Usage NewbBeginner Help Archive 3 16/11/2010 09:28 PM
CPU usage. SeQualX Server Support 5 16/11/2010 09:27 PM
CPU Usage 100% Whenever my bro run GTA Spilot Client Support 3 02/03/2009 03:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.