PDA

View Full Version : stuff about new fonts


Whitetiger
25/01/2015, 01:49 AM
First of all, I think you forgot to remove the client cmds /testdw and /togobjlight.

Secondly, why are the font changes so restrictive? Why are we given the option of ONLY one font for all gui elements When in the past we could change them independently? (https://github.com/Whitetigerswt/samp-font-changer) I like the small text in the chat and the death list, but not in the dialogs/typing in the chat window. I want them as different sizes.

Thirdly, How come we can't change any of the other parameters in the font besides the size(height+width?), weight and face? Is this just for simplicity? it seems really arbitrary to me... Also I think we would all benefit if the valid values for /fontsize were changed to -10 to 10 (or whatever numbers, just more of them!) and each step made less of an impact on the font size. To me, -1 seems to big, and -2 seems to small.

and finally, now that font sizes can be changed, why is /pagesize still limited to a maximum of 20 lines?

Abagail
25/01/2015, 02:01 AM
So many questions, anyways how did you find those two client commands? I can confirm that they are there, as nothing happens when you use them(no unknown command message is sent, etc.).

And he does state that the font customization isn't officially supported(how-ever it is there and thats official). Anyways: I agree that /pagesize should be increased. Maybe we'll see that on the next RC(hopefully!).

][Noname][
25/01/2015, 09:02 AM
//To me, -1 seems to big, and -2 seems to small
because value /fontsize value is multipled *2
I suggest to Kalcor dont multiple

LocMax
25/01/2015, 09:17 AM
So many questions, anyways how did you find those two client commands? I can confirm that they are there, as nothing happens when you use them(no unknown command message is sent, etc.).

And he does state that the font customization isn't officially supported(how-ever it is there and thats official). Anyways: I agree that /pagesize should be increased. Maybe we'll see that on the next RC(hopefully!).

I am against that since then it'll be even harder to make some bigger textdraws for example team selection and such.

Zekiloni
14/03/2015, 02:03 PM
can we change font size in tab, not chat, in tab :)

Abagail
15/03/2015, 05:40 PM
This is a total false argument. You can't object that SA:MP has lost functionality, when in fact you are comparing a new version with increased functionality to an old version. You COULDN'T alter text sizes independently before in SA:MP without hacks, and frankly any update that breaks hacks is a good change in my book!

It isn't really a hack since it was no saving / impacting changes but changing the the font for the client that uses it. I believe a more proper definition for it would be a "modification".

Kalcor
15/03/2015, 09:35 PM
From my point of view it would be better if SA-MP didn't need font size changing and it automatically selected a font size which was 'about right' for most for most different screen resolutions. That's what it has done for the previous versions.

What has changed is that I normally had access to the latest screens and could test most of the different resolutions players would use and make sure it looked okay. Now some players are upgrading to 2K/4K monitors at a time when I'm sticking with 1080p. And the font size selected for 1080p is too small for 2K/4K.

As for why the font size is selected in multiples of 2, that seems fairly standard in Windows programs where the points system is used. It's not completely arbitrary. It also allows me to test all the font sizes quickly at different resolutions and make sure things are scaling properly.

All the elements of SA-MP's UI could all have independent font sizes but I think most users just want something simple to scale everything up or down because the fonts are either too big or too small at their screen resolution.

Even if you were able to hack font sizes in previous versions there is no way everything would scale correctly. It actually required a lot of code changes to make that work and it's still not completely done yet for 0.3.7.

Cookland
22/03/2015, 10:26 AM
^ Well, that definitely solved the issue.

I'd love to make the 'Tab Menu' text smaller, thus, leaving the in game chat the same.