SA-MP Forums

SA-MP Forums (https://forum.sa-mp.com/index.php)
-   Server Support (https://forum.sa-mp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777? (https://forum.sa-mp.com/showthread.php?t=671021)

AngeloMk 04/12/2019 01:28 PM

¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Hi, I need to get a Custom IP.

example:

samp.hostname.com:7777

I need help!

Thanks for All.

__________________________________________________ ____________________________________________
:clucker: Usuario Español y Ingles. :clucker:

Proxus 04/12/2019 02:31 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
I'm pretty sure a DNS would be the best way to do this. For example, there are websites like no-ip that offer DNS services. Remember, free ones are worse!

Markski 04/12/2019 04:39 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Assuming that you already bought your domain, the webpanel for the domain provider you bought from should provide you with the tools required to point a subdomain to your IP address.

Here's an example for namecheap.com (it talks about Minecraft, but it's the same thing.). Most other domain providers have very similar webpanels.

Mattski 07/12/2019 03:08 AM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Proxus (Post 4124162)
I'm pretty sure a DNS would be the best way to do this. For example, there are websites like no-ip that offer DNS services. Remember, free ones are worse!

In what way they are worse?

Proxus 07/12/2019 07:13 AM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mattski (Post 4124385)
In what way they are worse?

Depends where you buy it from.
For one, you can't choose the subdomain of your choice so lack of freedom (obviously)
And more importantly, if you get a large amount of traffic, they can just redirect it to something of theirs for their gain. I've seen reports of this happening a long time ago, and anything's a possibility.

Mattski 07/12/2019 01:55 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Proxus (Post 4124394)
Depends where you buy it from.
For one, you can't choose the subdomain of your choice so lack of freedom (obviously)
And more importantly, if you get a large amount of traffic, they can just redirect it to something of theirs for their gain. I've seen reports of this happening a long time ago, and anything's a possibility.


Well, yeah that's true

Danbo7 08/12/2019 05:31 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
If your domain is using cloudflare just set up an A record called samp and have the IP be your server IP

WuMing 01/01/2020 06:22 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AngeloMk (Post 4124158)
Hi, I need to get a Custom IP.

example:

samp.hostname.com:7777

I need help!

Thanks for All.

__________________________________________________ ____________________________________________
:clucker: Usuario Español y Ingles. :clucker:

Hello AngeloMK, check this link I hope it will help you
https://forum.sa-mp.com/showthread.php?t=563355

If you need more help you can send me a private message on discord
You can find my discord on my signature.

Sasinosoft 21/01/2020 05:42 PM

Re: ¿How to set my ip to samp.hostname.com:7777?
 
You need first to buy the domain name. The most used providers are NameCheap and GoDaddy . You will pay every year to keep the name yours.
Then, you need to create a record of type "A" with the name of your choice, for example "samp", and make it point to your server's public IP Address.
Contact me in PM if you need any help.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.