SA-MP Forums

SA-MP Forums (https://forum.sa-mp.com/index.php)
-   Includes (https://forum.sa-mp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   [Include] rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays] (https://forum.sa-mp.com/showthread.php?t=275142)

RyDeR` 08/08/2011 03:47 PM

rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Introduction

Last days I did some research regarding bit manipulation and extractions and ended up with this small, very useful include. This include will save you lots of memory if you use it efficient.

Integer Limits

1-Bit
2-Bit
4-Bit
8-Bit
16-Bit
Limit1 ─ 0x13 ─ 0x315 ─ 0xF255 ─ 0xFF65535 ─ 0xFFFF

A higher/lower value will just repeat until the limit and start over again till done.

Usage

Declaration

The syntax is quite simple. You just use BitX and replace X with the prefered bit type as tag, followed by the name and then the size between < and >.

So for example let's declare a 4-bit array b4_Nibble with a size of 32:
pawn Code:
new
    Bit4: b4_Nibble <32>
;
Set and get a bit

You can use the BitX_Set/Get function for this. For example:
pawn Code:
Bit4_Set(b4_Nibble, 0, 4);
This will set b4_Nibble at index 0 to a value of 4.

Retrieving the value is as simple as:
pawn Code:
Bit4_Get(b4_Nibble, 0);
This will return the value in b4_Nibble at index 0 which will be 4 in this case.

Examples

Here are some simple examples of what I mean by "saving lots of memory". I often see people doing things like this:
pawn Code:
#include <a_samp>
   
new
    bool: g_PlayerSpawned[MAX_PLAYERS]
;

public OnPlayerSpawn(playerid) {
    g_PlayerSpawned[playerid] = true;
}

public OnPlayerDeath(playerid) {
    g_PlayerSpawned[playerid] = false;
}

public OnPlayerDisconnect(playerid, reason) {
    g_PlayerSpawned[playerid] = false;
}

stock IsPlayerSpawned(playerid) {
    return g_PlayerSpawned[playerid];
}
The .amx size after compile is 726 bytes. Nothing much, but as you can see we're using 32-bit variables for only 0 and 1, so that's a waste of a lot memory. The most relevant bit type in this case would be 1-bit:
pawn Code:
#include <a_samp>
#include <rBits>

new
    Bit1: g_PlayerSpawned <MAX_PLAYERS>
;

public OnPlayerSpawn(playerid) {
    Bit1_Set(g_PlayerSpawned, playerid, true);
}

public OnPlayerDeath(playerid) {
    Bit1_Set(g_PlayerSpawned, playerid, false);
}

public OnPlayerDisconnect(playerid, reason) {
    Bit1_Set(g_PlayerSpawned, playerid, false);
}

stock IsPlayerSpawned(playerid) {
    return Bit1_Get(g_PlayerSpawned, playerid);
}
The .amx size of this after compile is only 473 bytes. Probably not a big deal right now, but imagine with larger arrays or just a couple of more arrays like this.

This is just analog all the rest of the bit-types, just make sure you pick the right bit-type for your value.

Download

rBits.inc

FAQ
  • How can I use this with enum?
    • You can just sort per bit type. For example for 1-bit arrays:
      pawn Code:
      enum e_Bit1_Data {
          e_bSpawned,
          e_bIsDeath,
          e_bInDM,
          // ...
      };

      new
          g_Bit1_Data[e_Bit1_Data] <MAX_PLAYERS>
      ;

      Bit1_Set(g_Bit1_Data[e_bSpawned], playerid, true);
      Bit1_Get(g_Bit1_Data[e_bSpawned], playerid);
  • How to increase/decrease the value?
    • Since x++ is equal to x = x + 1 we can simply use that technique:
      pawn Code:
      Bit4_Set(b4_Nibble, 0, Bit4_Get(b4_Nibble, 0) + 1);
  • Other questions?
    • Ask in the comments.

Ash. 08/08/2011 03:50 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Nice Ryder! I'd thought about this in the past, but aren't you leaving yourself open to possible overflows? (I haven't looked at the source code yet, so I'm probably wrong)

VivianKris 08/08/2011 03:54 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Nice I will try it!

Zh3r0 08/08/2011 03:56 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Now I understand what bits are, thanks a lot for this.

So normal variables are 32bits? Which means they can store a high amount of data but we only need 0 and 1.
Whenever we use a variable to just check something if it's true or false we simply use the 1bit array right?

And when we count a variable we just use the 16bit?

RyDeR` 08/08/2011 04:07 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by funky1234 (Post 1335885)
Nice Ryder! I'd thought about this in the past, but aren't you leaving yourself open to possible overflows? (I haven't looked at the source code yet, so I'm probably wrong)

There's a small piece of code involved which checks if you exceed the array bounds so I guess this is quite safe.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zh3r0 (Post 1335892)
So normal variables are 32bits?

Yes.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Zh3r0 (Post 1335892)
Which means they can store a high amount of data but we only need 0 and 1. Whenever we use a variable to just check something if it's true or false we simply use the 1bit array right?

Yes.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Zh3r0 (Post 1335892)
And when we count a variable we just use the 16bit?

No, you just use the value you need and nothing more. If you use 16-bit arrays, you can save a maximum amount of 65535 like I said in the topic (see limits).

Zh3r0 08/08/2011 04:09 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RyDeR` (Post 1335913)
There's a small piece of code involved which checks if you exceed the array bounds so I guess this is quite safe.
No, you just use the value you need and nothing more. If you use 16-bit arrays, you can save a maximum amount of 65535 like I said in the topic (see limits).

Ah yes, true, I meant 4-bit array, then the 4bit array will do it right, and it also doesn't exceed alpha opacity xD
(Which is the right thing I need)

I'm switching right NOW!, Thanks again. Good job.

Kaperstone 08/08/2011 04:23 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
nice :D

OUL 08/08/2011 04:27 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
This is awesome i'm gonna use this :)

RyDeR` 08/08/2011 04:31 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xkirill (Post 1335934)
nice :D
can u make Minimum random number to?

What do you exactly mean by that? The examples are just examples on how to use it, don't get confused by that please.

OUL 08/08/2011 04:35 PM

Re: rBits [supports 16, 8, 4, 2 and 1-bit arrays]
 
I mean he think on something like this

RandomEx(min, max)

but that's posible and easy to make use 'Min, Max' fnc
OFF TOPIC


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.