SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP > Client Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29/03/2010, 04:25 AM   #1
Spartan0189
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0
Default SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Hiya,
Thought I would bring the problem here.
Whenever I click the green start button (At the top left corner), I will get a "gta_sa.exe has stopped working.." message.
So, here is what I have/use/etc
SA-MP: 0.3a
OS: Windows Vista
GFX Card: Nvidia 6150SE
Server: 174.36.235.156:5100
I don't really have an error log, I haven't installed any new mods, my game is 1.0 US, I freshly re-installed it.

I don't know why it is crashing/not starting, but I've used it in the past successfully, I do not know why now is so different
Here is a picture of what pops up.


Thanks,
Spartan
Spartan0189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/03/2010, 08:55 AM   #2
Ash.
High-roller
 
Ash.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 2,084
Reputation: 163
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Ive had a problem like this before, If you are running Vista Aero (The theme) [Makes the window edges transparent] - Then Disable it. I found that paired with GTA's graphic propertys causes it to FAIL with SA:MP running!

If that doesnt work idk, it worked for me
__________________
TruckingWorld
Work, Play, Make Friends
Written from scratch, and originally released in 2011, play today!
Visit the forum | Play the game
Ash. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30/03/2010, 03:46 PM   #3
Scenario
Godfather
 
Scenario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Heaven
Posts: 7,809
Reputation: 701
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Have you downgraded to version 1.0 of GTA:SA?
Scenario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 03:27 AM   #4
Spartan0189
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Yes, It's 1.0 US.
Spartan0189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 04:14 AM   #5
Postalityjr
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Reputation: 9
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

I have a similar problem.With mine it tries to go into the game,gives me a black screen so I open task manager but when i end the process it freezes my whole computer up
Postalityjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 08:01 PM   #6
Scenario
Godfather
 
Scenario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Heaven
Posts: 7,809
Reputation: 701
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Ah. I know, you both need to update your video drivers. This is very important and after awhile can potentially harm your computer. I suggest you update... If you do not know how, contact your GPU's tech support team, they would be happy to help you. Best of luck to ya.
Scenario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 09:05 PM   #7
Postalityjr
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Reputation: 9
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPTechStudios
Ah. I know, you both need to update your video drivers. This is very important and after awhile can potentially harm your computer. I suggest you update... If you do not know how, contact your GPU's tech support team, they would be happy to help you. Best of luck to ya.
Yea I forgot to say for some reason if I uninstall the game and install it again it works but then I play for a bit it randomly black screens
Postalityjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2010, 11:45 PM   #8
Scenario
Godfather
 
Scenario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Heaven
Posts: 7,809
Reputation: 701
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postalityjr
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPTechStudios
Ah. I know, you both need to update your video drivers. This is very important and after awhile can potentially harm your computer. I suggest you update... If you do not know how, contact your GPU's tech support team, they would be happy to help you. Best of luck to ya.
Yea I forgot to say for some reason if I uninstall the game and install it again it works but then I play for a bit it randomly black screens
Yeah. Sounds like a video driver problem... Install the latest and you shouldn't have any more problems...
Scenario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/04/2010, 10:03 AM   #9
Mr187
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 918
Reputation: 11
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

1. Upgrade video drivers
2. Set gta_sa.exe to start up as windows 2000 by right clicking it and going to properties than compatibility.
3. Reinstall it
4. Run it as an admin?
5. Can try deleting your gta_sa.set, sometimes i keep crashing or my screen goes black once i delete it, it fixes the problem.
Mr187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/04/2010, 05:17 PM   #10
Scenario
Godfather
 
Scenario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Heaven
Posts: 7,809
Reputation: 701
Default Re: SA-MP Crashes upon clicking start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr187
1. Upgrade video drivers
2. Set gta_sa.exe to start up as windows 2000 by right clicking it and going to properties than compatibility.
3. Reinstall it
4. Run it as an admin?
5. Can try deleting your gta_sa.set, sometimes i keep crashing or my screen goes black once i delete it, it fixes the problem.
1. Yes.
2. No! You do not need to do that, it never solves anything...
3. No... Upgrade your video drivers.
4. Set the compatibly mode to "always run this program as Administrator".
5. You could try that, but it won't solve much...

Upgrade your Video Drivers, that is all it takes.
Scenario is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA SA-MP Crashes When I start a Sa-Mp Server. Coolhummer65 Client Support 0 24/01/2010 03:20 PM
[HELP] Server crashes when i start it [NYRP]Mike. Server Support 2 31/12/2009 04:48 AM
Friends SAMP crashes when clicking spawn whereschris Client Support 0 03/12/2009 09:47 PM
SA-MP crashes on start Seabearjr Client Support 5 26/10/2009 02:00 PM
SA-MP crashes on start. LiberatorXD Client Support 14 15/08/2009 08:17 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.