SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP > Client Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22/02/2016, 02:16 AM   #1
Shockmouth
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Reputation: 0
Angry SAMP crashes when changing resolution to 1920x1080 on Windows 10

A few months ago, I must have made a big mistake in upgrading to Windows 10. Because I have gone through so much pain, reinstalling, uninstalling, deleting, downloading and restarting just to get this fucking game to work. The thing is, while everybody else playing SAMP might as well stay on Windows 7, there will come a time when support for 7 will be outphased, so I hope the developers at SAMP can do everything they can to improve compatibility with Windows 10.

Anyway, onto the main topic.

First, I have a vanilla installation of GTA San Andreas. Freshly extracted. Hasn't been run. Before I do anything I make sure to replace the gta_sa.exe with the v1.0 HOODLUM crack as it is the most consistent .exe out there. I made sure to delete my GTA San Andreas User Files folder beforehand and installed SAMP. I open SAMP and join my own private LAN server that I can use to test mods and see if the game works. The game loads successfully and starts in 640x480 resolution. I go to change the screen resolution to 1920x1080, and when I apply the setting, this happens:

Quote:
SA-MP 0.3.7
Exception At Address: 0x53FE3AEB
Base: 0x04050000

Registers:
EAX: 0x01CDA800 EBX: 0x1F9D2920 ECX: 0x00000000 EDX: 0x00000001
ESI: 0x094D0F80 EDI: 0x0177F53C EBP: 0x0177F4B8 ESP: 0x0177F4B0
EFLAGS: 0x00210246

Stack:
+0000: 0x01CC7EA8 0x53FE39F0 0x0177F64C 0x64FF875B
+0010: 0x01CDA800 0x0177F53C 0x0A61F860 0x64FB1A20
+0020: 0x0930C220 0x1F9F9958 0x0177F778 0x01CC7EA8
+0030: 0x1F9D2920 0x01CC7EA8 0x00000000 0x0177F538
+0040: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x01CC7EA8 0x1F9D2CD8
+0050: 0x000007D0 0x74BF6820 0x00000000 0x53FD424A
+0060: 0x00000007 0x0000007F 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0070: 0x00000000 0x0177F538 0x53FE6300 0x0000007F
+0080: 0x53FE6280 0x0177FB30 0x0177FA54 0x1CEF39E0
+0090: 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000780
+00A0: 0x00000438 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00B0: 0x00000000 0x00000780 0x00000438 0x00000000
+00C0: 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000001
+00D0: 0x00000065 0x00000002 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00E0: 0x0177F558 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00F0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x1CEEF100
+0100: 0x00100044 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00020000
+0110: 0x1F9F9958 0x00000000 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000
+0120: 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000
+0130: 0x0177F578 0x0000001C 0x00000000 0x0000001C
+0140: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000
+0150: 0x0177F598 0x0000001C 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0160: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0170: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0180: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0190: 0x00000000 0x1FDA1BDA 0x65043327 0x0177F8F4
+01A0: 0x6504376A 0x0177F778 0x0930C638 0x1F9D2CD8
+01B0: 0x0930C220 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01C0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01D0: 0x00000001 0x1F516CE0 0x00000000 0x00000001
+01E0: 0x1F9D2CD8 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01F0: 0x00000000 0x000005DA 0x7725EF8C 0x20531AC0
+0200: 0x00000000 0x00000038 0x00000040 0x01B50000
+0210: 0x00000038 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0220: 0x00000000 0x000207D0 0x00020000 0x00000040
+0230: 0x00000000 0x0949A820 0x2051A310 0x00000000
+0240: 0x2051A430 0x0000001A 0x00000000 0x00000020
+0250: 0x000201D8 0x00020000 0x00020CA4 0x0000001A
+0260: 0x00020CA0 0x00000000 0x0177F758 0x7725DD20
+0270: 0x00000038 0x00140008 0x00000000 0x00000008

SCM Op: 0x470, lDbg: 0 LastRendObj: 717

Game Version: US 1.0

State Information: Ped Context: 0
So to try and fix this, I set gta_sa.exe to run as an administrator, and I do the same thing with SAMP to prevent the "Error: unable to execute" window from popping up. I try to load up the game again, and this time, THE GAME IMMEDIATELY CRASHES BEFORE IT CAN EVEN START UP, with the same opcode as above (0x53FE3AEB)

However, this is because when we applied the 1920x1080 setting, it is saved to the gta_sa.set file in Documents, so if I delete it the game loads up fine again, except obviously at 640x480 because naturally the game creates a fresh gta_sa.set when it starts. If I try changing it to any other resolution, everything up until this point repeats itself.

So then the next thing to try and do is mess around with compatibility settings. I delete gta_sa.set again and set gta_sa.exe to run in compatibility mode in Windows 7 (and still as an administrator for integrity). I start up the game again, and this time, I get a new opcode:

Quote:
SA-MP 0.3.7
Exception At Address: 0x0040FB80
Base: 0x04320000

Registers:
EAX: 0x14BB0628 EBX: 0x14BAE5E0 ECX: 0x00000000 EDX: 0x00000000
ESI: 0x04498C68 EDI: 0x14BAE5E0 EBP: 0x00000118 ESP: 0x0177FC88
EFLAGS: 0x00210202

Stack:
+0000: 0x004C6DC5 0x00000030 0x14BAE5E0 0x14BAE5E0
+0010: 0x04498C68 0x00000118 0x00001500 0x0177FCE8
+0020: 0x0177FCE8 0x14BB0628 0x04498C68 0x018448D8
+0030: 0x0177FCE8 0x008A62EC 0x008A62EC 0x04498C68
+0040: 0x00001500 0x004C549D 0x01844810 0x004C52F0
+0050: 0x0177FCE8 0x14BAE5E0 0x04498C68 0x0177FF70
+0060: 0x0083BC4B 0xFFFFFFFF 0x004C7369 0x14BAE5E0
+0070: 0x14BAE5E0 0x04498C68 0x005373CF 0x14BAE5E0
+0080: 0x008E48AC 0x00000118 0x04498C68 0x000015E0
+0090: 0x0040C814 0x008E48AC 0x04498C68 0x000015E0
+00A0: 0x00000118 0x00000000 0x008E4A60 0x00000000
+00B0: 0x1601A800 0x00012000 0x008E7B50 0x0177FF70
+00C0: 0x76F717E0 0x3430D51F 0xFFFFFFFE 0x0040E2CA
+00D0: 0x1601A800 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000 0x00000008
+00E0: 0x00000000 0x770A27D0 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00F0: 0x00000024 0x0040EAC8 0x00000000 0x00000001
+0100: 0x00000000 0x00863B10 0x005BA263 0x00000000
+0110: 0x00863A6C 0x0086A578 0x00000000 0x0053BCAB
+0120: 0x00863B10 0x00863B10 0x00863A90 0x00863B10
+0130: 0x0000000A 0x0053E593 0x00863B10 0x00748D00
+0140: 0x74BE99F0 0x00000000 0x0177FF80 0x0028F000
+0150: 0x01820000 0x00000008 0x01825260 0x00000008
+0160: 0x00000100 0x00000008 0x00000102 0x43C80000
+0170: 0x43960000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000320
+0180: 0x00000258 0x00000000 0x0177FE4C 0x00080428
+0190: 0x00000200 0x00000000 0x01410275 0x0023B54B
+01A0: 0x00000275 0x00000141 0x0000002C 0x76F40503
+01B0: 0x00825EA4 0x0177FF70 0x00825EA4 0x00000000
+01C0: 0x0028F000 0x00821D17 0x00835342 0x43BA7997
+01D0: 0x0177FF80 0x008246F1 0x00400000 0x00000000
+01E0: 0x019A3936 0x0000000A 0x00000094 0x00000006
+01F0: 0x00000001 0x00001DB0 0x00000002 0x00000000
+0200: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0210: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0220: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0230: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0240: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0250: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0260: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0270: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00824588 0x00824570

SCM Op: 0x0, lDbg: 0 LastRendObj: 0

Game Version: US 1.0
Okay, so Windows 7 is obviously too new for a 12-year-old game such as GTA San Andreas, so I set it down to Windows XP Service Pack 3. This time, the game actually tries to load and does so all the way until I crash with the same opcode as before (0x0040FB80)

Windows XP Service Pack 2?

Quote:
SA-MP 0.3.7
Exception At Address: 0x006F5636
Base: 0x04350000

Registers:
EAX: 0x1789BFFF EBX: 0x1788FA88 ECX: 0x00823100 EDX: 0xE92E1BE8
ESI: 0x0000C578 EDI: 0x00000001 EBP: 0x0000C577 ESP: 0x0177FCF8
EFLAGS: 0x00210207

Stack:
+0000: 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00863B10 0x770A27D0
+0010: 0xC50CDA14 0x426EE354 0x4208AD29 0x008D48F8
+0020: 0x0000012C 0xFFFFB993 0x44B3F3D7 0x45248429
+0030: 0x411D2805 0x0177FF70 0x00848AAB 0xFFFFFFFF
+0040: 0x006F74C1 0x008724AC 0x00C3802C 0x00C3801C
+0050: 0x00C37FF4 0x00000002 0x00000001 0x00863B10
+0060: 0x00000000 0x000000FF 0x005B931E 0x008E2C90
+0070: 0x504D4153 0x6D61735C 0x70692E70 0x7A6F006C
+0080: 0x692E6E6F 0x00006C70 0x50492E64 0x0000004C
+0090: 0x00824200 0x00001800 0x00000000 0x008211B7
+00A0: 0x00001800 0x49742400 0x005B3206 0x00001800
+00B0: 0x0053BCA0 0x00863B10 0x00863A90 0x00863B10
+00C0: 0x0000000A 0x0053E593 0x00863B10 0x00748D00
+00D0: 0x74BE99F0 0x00000000 0x0177FF80 0x00328000
+00E0: 0x01860000 0x00000008 0x01865260 0x00000008
+00F0: 0x00000100 0x00000008 0x00000102 0x43C80000
+0100: 0x43960000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000320
+0110: 0x00000258 0x00000000 0x0177FE4C 0x00150934
+0120: 0x00000200 0x00000000 0x015202D3 0x00295089
+0130: 0x000002D3 0x00000152 0x0000002C 0x76F40503
+0140: 0x00825EA4 0x0177FF70 0x00825EA4 0x00000000
+0150: 0x00328000 0x00821D17 0x00835342 0x86C6C603
+0160: 0x0177FF80 0x008246F1 0x00400000 0x00000000
+0170: 0x01B03936 0x0000000A 0x00000094 0x00000005
+0180: 0x00000001 0x00000A28 0x00000002 0x76726553
+0190: 0x20656369 0x6B636150 0x00003220 0x00000000
+01A0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01B0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01C0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01D0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01E0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01F0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0200: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00824588 0x00824570
+0210: 0x00824570 0x00328000 0xC0000005 0x00000000
+0220: 0x01B03936 0x00000044 0x01B264C8 0x01B2E2D0
+0230: 0x01B3A670 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0240: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0250: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0xFFFFFFFF
+0260: 0xFFFFFFFF 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0270: 0x0177FE70 0x0177F73C 0x0177FFCC 0x00825EA4

SCM Op: 0x0, lDbg: 0 LastRendObj: 0

Game Version: US 1.0
Windows Vista? Nope, 0x0040FB80 treats it the exact same way as XP.

Vista Service Pack 1? 0x0040FB80.

Vista Service Pack 2? 0x0040FB80.

Okay so it doesn't like Windows Vista, 7 or XP. It's not likely that this next one would work, but maybe Windows 8 because its the most recent setting?

Ahaha, just kidding. 0x0040FB80.

So after all that hassle - there's only two settings left - 98 / ME and 95. I wouldn't want to have to run something with something as trivial as Windows 98 compatibility mode, but at this point I might as well try it.

This time, the game loads up successfully again. But then of course, when I try to change to 1920x1080 resolution:

Quote:
SA-MP 0.3.7
Exception At Address: 0x53FE3AEB
Base: 0x04C00000

Registers:
EAX: 0x05D33000 EBX: 0x1E72ED64 ECX: 0x00000000 EDX: 0x00000001
ESI: 0x0B487780 EDI: 0x0177F53C EBP: 0x0177F4B8 ESP: 0x0177F4B0
EFLAGS: 0x00210246

Stack:
+0000: 0x01A794D8 0x53FE39F0 0x0177F64C 0x64FF875B
+0010: 0x05D33000 0x0177F53C 0x19F35980 0x64FB1A20
+0020: 0x0B4A3040 0x01980000 0x0177F778 0x01A794D8
+0030: 0x1E72ED64 0x01A794D8 0x00000000 0x0177F510
+0040: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x01A794D8 0x1A06BD10
+0050: 0x000007D0 0x74BF6820 0x00000000 0x53FD424A
+0060: 0x00000007 0x0000007F 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0070: 0x00000000 0x0177F538 0x53FE6300 0x0000007F
+0080: 0x53FE6280 0x0177FB30 0x0177FA54 0x1FC6EFB0
+0090: 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000780
+00A0: 0x00000438 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00B0: 0x00000000 0x00000780 0x00000438 0x00000000
+00C0: 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000001
+00D0: 0x00000065 0x00000002 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00E0: 0x0177F558 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00000000
+00F0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x0A64AE00
+0100: 0x00100044 0x00000001 0x00000000 0x00020000
+0110: 0x0A64AD6C 0x00000000 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000
+0120: 0xFFFFFFFF 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000
+0130: 0x0177F578 0x0000001C 0x00000000 0x0000001C
+0140: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000001 0x00000000
+0150: 0x0177F598 0x0000001C 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0160: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0170: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0180: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0190: 0x00000000 0xF66C1DE2 0x65043327 0x0177F8F4
+01A0: 0x6504376A 0x0177F778 0x0B4A3458 0x1A06BD10
+01B0: 0x0B4A3040 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01C0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01D0: 0x00000001 0x1D9FAD00 0x00000000 0x00000001
+01E0: 0x1A06BD10 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+01F0: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0200: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0210: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0220: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0230: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000
+0240: 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0xF66C1E32
+0250: 0x00000000 0x0177F770 0x64FB0B63 0x00000000
+0260: 0x64FB0B40 0x00000000 0x0177F810 0x00000000
+0270: 0x76316D6C 0x76315D26 0x4F010B59 0x00000000

SCM Op: 0x77E, lDbg: 0 LastRendObj: 1283

Game Version: US 1.0

State Information: Ped Context: 0
(which is basically the same thing that happened with Windows 7. However, it's also worth nothing that when you run the game in Windows 98 mode, it loses the ability to create folders in other locations, which means it doesn't create the GTA San Andreas User Files folder, saves settings or pick up on the User Track Player)

And no - removing the compatibility setting, starting the game (it loads completely without one), changing the resolution and crashing then putting any compatibility setting back on doesn't do anything - it instantly crashes as soon as I try to start it up. Running samp.exe with the same compatibility setting as gta_sa.exe doesn't change anything either.

So I tried a different gta_sa.exe, this one that apparently works for Windows 10. I replaced the initial HOODLUM .exe and started the game without any compatibility settings. The game starts up at 640x480 and I try to change the resolution to 1920x1080. 0x53FE3AEB.

However, when I then set the compatability mode to Windows XP Service Pack 3 and tried then, the loading screen appeared at 1920x1080, but when it finished loading still delivered the same opcode as before (0x0040FB80)

And then I tried a third gta_sa.exe from www.gta-sa.ru - and I had exactly the same problem.

So how do I get SAMP working on Windows 10 at 1920x1080 resolution? How do I fix this? SAMP Addon was a temporary solution which worked until I used SAAT to replace sounds in the game, and that addon installs some audio plugin stuff (among other things which aren't necessary for me) that messes it up. Apparently this is caused by a bug within SAMP - what causes it and what specific fix do I need to do to fix it, if I can?
Shockmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22/02/2016, 07:07 AM   #2
reemyrobby
Little Clucker
 
reemyrobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MNL
Posts: 45
Reputation: 25
Default Re: SAMP crashes when changing resolution to 1920x1080 on Windows 10

Have you installed the correct drivers properly? You can find the drivers for your computer on the manufacturer's website.
__________________

Giga
Red County Roleplay former tester guy
reemyrobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22/02/2016, 11:56 AM   #3
Shockmouth
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Reputation: 0
Default Re: SAMP crashes when changing resolution to 1920x1080 on Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by reemyrobby View Post
Have you installed the correct drivers properly? You can find the drivers for your computer on the manufacturer's website.
Video drivers are always up to date with GeForce Experience. But I don't think it has anything to do with drivers because I was able to get the game running before in Windows 98 compatibility mode, but I can't remember how and plus there are people who can run the game just fine.
Shockmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22/02/2016, 12:50 PM   #4
lucamsx
Big Clucker
 
lucamsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 196
Reputation: 37
Default Re: SAMP crashes when changing resolution to 1920x1080 on Windows 10

Try this
http://www.gtagaming.com/downloads/g...ipt-mods/23850
lucamsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22/02/2016, 08:27 PM   #5
Shockmouth
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Reputation: 0
Default Re: SAMP crashes when changing resolution to 1920x1080 on Windows 10

Miraculously, it was all due to the GTA installation itself... the one I was using originally didn't have cutscene audio or radio. So I installed a fresh one via .iso instead > set both to run as administrator and somehow it worked!

For future reference:

1. Get clean GTA:SA from an .iso file
2. Replace gta_sa.exe with the Windows 10 .exe here
3. Set both SAMP and gta_sa to run as administrator
4. Should work!
Shockmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If Samsung galaxy ace can play Movies that Resolution is 1920x1080 ? Windrush Everything and Nothing 8 06/03/2014 11:21 AM
SAMP and GTA San Andreas 1920x1080 Resolution?! Homeboy25 Client Support 3 06/01/2012 04:50 PM
1920x1080 resolution with samp? [v1.0] Milk_ General 1 09/03/2010 05:30 AM
SAMP Crashes at 80% in Windows XP. DjSterios Client Support 2 29/10/2009 05:55 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.