SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP > Client Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26/02/2020, 05:41 AM   #1
Deucalion069
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0
Exclamation Only samp has high ping!

I used to get around 150ms in the servers I play. But after a server restart from the ISP side, the ping skyrocketed to 300~400ms. I've contacted my ISP over this issue, but they couldn't fix it since it wasn't a problem from their side.
My speed test results-

Also the ping is fine in other games like Overwatch, where my usual ping is 20~40ms.
Paladins 20~50ms.
Rocket League ~100ms.
So this is clearly a issue of the samp client and not the ISP.

Things I've done to fix the issue but couldn't:
-Tried the vanilla.
-Re-installed Samp.
-Re-installed GTA SA.
-Rebooted Router.
-Formatted the HDD.
-Re-installed Windows.

PS: Before you guys tell me to move to a better place let me clear something out- this isn't a server issue, but that of samp. Why? I was playing on those servers just yesterday with ~150ms and whenever I clicked on the hosted tab, the usualy pings are 100~250ms. But now, it's a complete havoc of 300ms+ pings for all the servers. (Proof). Don't tell me all server on samp got moved to another location overnight.
Also I can provide you guys with the cmd ping of the samp server and it's reverse log.
Deucalion069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26/02/2020, 06:08 AM   #2
Deucalion069
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

I actually found the issue!

Looks like am connecting from a different location rather than my home. I've set a VPN from my place and the ping was back to normal and when i turned it off it went back to 300ms again. Somehow am connecting to samp servers from a different location rather than my home network. Can someone please help me fix this ?
Deucalion069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2020, 03:57 PM   #3
TheArcher
High-roller
 
TheArcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 2,334
Reputation: 251
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

There's nothing you can do! Its still ISP routing the traffic in a wrong way, the VPN is the proof the ISP is your problem
__________________
TheArcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/03/2020, 04:26 PM   #4
RoboN1X
Huge Clucker
 
RoboN1X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 453
Reputation: 145
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

Well then you can try remove your vpn completely..

Also try to use traceroute first for better info..
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ems-in-windows

you can usually do this as well in your router configuration
__________________
Need Help? Use Search, WIKI, and FAQ
RoboN1X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2020, 04:59 PM   #5
kaisersouse
High-roller
 
kaisersouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Subaru Forester
Posts: 2,799
Reputation: 1024
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

The VPN is causing latency due to its security stuff. Tunneling packets always adds overhead, and for some reason UDP packets are always worse-off than TCP. SA-MP uses UDP.

Normally ISPs aren't going to just provide a free VPN service by default, so the VPN has to be something that either you have added...or you have a piece of malware/trojan thats set up a tunnel on your machine for not-good purposes.
__________________
Life is like a box of cheap-ass no cocoa garbage dollar-store chocolate.

Ban UIF
kaisersouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/04/2020, 08:04 AM   #6
Radu15
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

I have the same problem, did you found a fix?
Radu15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/04/2020, 09:54 AM   #7
Radu15
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0
Default Re: Only samp has high ping!

What we needs to do with traceroute to fix thix problem?
Radu15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FilterScript] San Andreas Essentials: ePing | Freeze Player With High Ping | Anti-High Ping | billy1337samp Filterscripts 11 23/11/2017 07:04 AM
Problem with high ping system SAMP dafaadytia Scripting Help 4 29/06/2015 04:04 PM
High Ping... Brys Everything and Nothing 8 21/09/2014 12:49 PM
High Ping slimshady Client Support 4 13/08/2012 07:49 PM
samp High ping problem damaggy Client Support 4 01/05/2011 09:39 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.