SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP Server > Server Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12/06/2018, 01:34 PM   #1
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default my A Record for my server not working

i'm having trouble with my A Record.

i've set my subdomain's (server.sf-roleplay.tk) A Record to 212.47.230.89 which is my server IP, this will turn my server ip into "server.sf-roleplay.tk". it was working, but after a week, it stopped working. it doesn't connect or show the hostname on my samp server list, I tried using the ip "212.47.230.89", from there, it works.

But if i type in "server.sf-roleplay.tk" into my browser, it sends me to the panel of my server provider.

i recently got myself an "sf-roleplay.net" domain, and also changed the A Record to "212.47.230.89", but still no luck. Is it SA-MP's fault or am i doing something wrong?
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2018, 02:10 PM   #2
oSAINTo
Huge Clucker
 
oSAINTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 204
Reputation: 35
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

Are you making sure to include the proper server port at the end of the domain if you aren’t using the default SA-MP port?
i.e. server.sf-roleplay.tk:7766
If your port is 7766.
oSAINTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15/06/2018, 10:11 AM   #3
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

yes i do include the port.
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15/06/2018, 10:52 AM   #4
GTLS
High-roller
 
GTLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: India
Posts: 1,072
Reputation: 119
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

Probably some problem on host side if you're not doing anything wrong.
__________________

I don't help for rep. I help cuz I was helped in the past.


Retired from SAMP Scene. Might open SAMP Forums once in a while.

Some treats for ya. Click em
Basic House System
Simple Speedo
Base Login/Register Script

GTLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15/06/2018, 05:21 PM   #5
GTLS
High-roller
 
GTLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: India
Posts: 1,072
Reputation: 119
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanDenZYR;4027976I
tried using the ip "212.47.230.89", from there, it works.

Yup it did work for him tho.
I did pinging IP and his domain both and both had replies. I think the problem is solved now?

Code:
Pinging server.sf-roleplay.tk [212.47.230.89] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=280ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=175ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=175ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=184ms TTL=45

Ping statistics for 212.47.230.89:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 175ms, Maximum = 280ms, Average = 203ms
Code:
Pinging 212.47.230.89 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=386ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=338ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=279ms TTL=45
Reply from 212.47.230.89: bytes=32 time=221ms TTL=45

Ping statistics for 212.47.230.89:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 221ms, Maximum = 386ms, Average = 306ms
__________________

I don't help for rep. I help cuz I was helped in the past.


Retired from SAMP Scene. Might open SAMP Forums once in a while.

Some treats for ya. Click em
Basic House System
Simple Speedo
Base Login/Register Script

GTLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17/06/2018, 11:23 AM   #6
Infin1ty
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 117
Reputation: 52
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

Yep. Your A record pings an IP. Must be an issue with your host.
Infin1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19/06/2018, 09:41 AM   #7
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

sorry for the super late reply. I currently changed my host provider, did the same, changed the A record to 138.68.108.30. Also, i changed website provider and got myself a .net domain. It works, when i type into the browser the host provider's ip (138.68.108.30), which is also my server ip, it sends me to the host ogp panel, and i tried server.sf-roleplay.net (where i changed my A record to 138.68.108.30 which is my host provider's IP), it also sends me to the host ogp panel (which is a good thing), but when i started my server, (which was currently closed when i changed the A Record), and typed the new ip (server.sf-roleplay.net:7779), it doesn't work, does it have to do with TTL or something? cause i set it to 1 hour.
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19/06/2018, 09:48 AM   #8
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

oh, problem fixed, i tried to connect, it worked, but a new problem occured: my hostname is not working, it just shows me this:
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20/06/2018, 07:47 AM   #9
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

bump
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21/06/2018, 02:55 AM   #10
SeanDenZYR
Big Clucker
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 166
Reputation: 20
Default Re: my A Record for my server not working

I use 1and1 for web hosting, and my server provider uses an OGP
SeanDenZYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS SRV record for server Sanya161RU Server Support 1 08/08/2016 06:16 PM
How do i record the amount of time player has spent in the server? Type-R Scripting Help 9 17/06/2014 05:06 AM
Server does'nt record any changes - Urgent jackjamil Server Support 0 12/11/2010 10:40 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.