SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > Other > Everything and Nothing

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28/04/2014, 08:08 PM   #1
Luis-
High-roller
 
Luis-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 3,933
Reputation: 415
Default Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Hey, any ideas on what I could upgrade it from? I've not upgraded my computer since I bought it which was in 2009.

I'd like a cheap but good one, cheers.
__________________
Luis- is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 08:12 PM   #2
Kindred
High-roller
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,252
Reputation: 504
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Whoever helps this man gets a cookie.
Kindred is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 08:13 PM   #3
Luis-
High-roller
 
Luis-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 3,933
Reputation: 415
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Obviously i'm a noob with things like this, so is this any good? Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
__________________
Luis- is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 08:29 PM   #4
NewerthRoleplay
High-roller
 
NewerthRoleplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England :: The Danger Zone
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 133
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Hmm, what's your budget like?
__________________
NewerthRoleplay is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 08:31 PM   #5
Luis-
High-roller
 
Luis-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 3,933
Reputation: 415
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Well, I haven't got one yet, but if I can find a card that meets my demands then i'll work it out from there.
__________________
Luis- is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 08:33 PM   #6
NewerthRoleplay
High-roller
 
NewerthRoleplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England :: The Danger Zone
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 133
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Well, my next upgrade will be a 760 which looks pretty damn awesome; and an added bonus is it's £80 off on amazon. Although for its price at the moment that is a great deal..
__________________
NewerthRoleplay is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 09:38 PM   #7
BlackBank
Gangsta
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 522
Reputation: 437
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis- View Post
Obviously i'm a noob with things like this, so is this any good? Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Don't look further at the GTX 500 series, it's old and uses alot more power, compared to the GTX 600/700 series.
If you want to play games on high/medium, then it's maybe a good idea to look at the GTX 660 or the GTX 760(recommended).

You can also look at the AMD GPUs (i have no experience with this brand), those are cheaper compared to NVIDIA GPUs.
BlackBank is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 09:45 PM   #8
Fool
Gangsta
 
Fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 709
Reputation: 172
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

go for GTX 750 or R7 265x
Fool is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 10:30 PM   #9
Yves
High-roller
 
Yves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,498
Reputation: 122
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti is good but i would go for AMD because Nvidia cards are just crappy and overheat alot.

i had a GTX 560 TI and fucked up so now i got AMD everything is alot better i had AMD for a year now still works perfectly no crashing on games or overheat.

Also the driver updates
----------------------
i don't mind updating drivers every single day just to play a game with bug fixes and stuff but that keeps the graphics card updated however, some of the updates are ugly aka Betas and stuff.
__________________
Yves is offline  
Old 28/04/2014, 10:41 PM   #10
BlackBank
Gangsta
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 522
Reputation: 437
Default Re: Need an upgrade from an Nvidia Geforce GT230

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yves View Post
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti is good but i would go for AMD because Nvidia cards are just crappy and overheat alot.

i had a GTX 560 TI and fucked up so now i got AMD everything is alot better i had AMD for a year now still works perfectly no crashing on games or overheat.
NVIDIA has a much more user friendly interface (drivers, updating, screen capturing, automatic graphics settings for games and more), compared to the driver/user interface of AMD.

I also have heard/read from other people, that AMD GPUs are using much more power and are also hotter then NVIDIA GPUs. But i can't confirm this, and i don't know if this 'issues' still appear on there new GPUs.
BlackBank is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Problem]GeForce UCP filipkozina Scripting Help 0 30/01/2013 03:31 PM
[Off] Brecha em placas GeForce Joao Pedro PortuguÍs/Portuguese 16 26/12/2012 08:22 PM
NVidia Geforce GTS 250 Sanady Everything and Nothing 2 04/07/2012 07:20 PM
Nvidia = 3D DRIFT_HUNTER Everything and Nothing 3 10/06/2011 02:22 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.