SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP Server > Server Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01/08/2020, 04:30 PM   #1
einstamas
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
Reputation: 0
Default SAMP server for ARM

That idea has been disposed multiple times, but i am here to suggest it again.
It's 2020 and we NEED an ARM-compatible server image.

A lot of people are running gameservers, webservers on raspberry pi as the newest model come with a powerful processor, and up to 8gb of ram. This is enough to run a samp server.

Some people say "take out gpu etc from an old pc and use it as a host"
This is not the same. it would be noisy and consume around 20-40W atleast while the rPI is silent than a pc and consumes only 2-5W avg.

The other thing is the size, you can place the rpi into your college room's corner and run a samp server on it, playing with some friends. In this urbanized world, a lot of people have space problems, so you don't really want a big, 24/7 humming box in any of your rooms but you might want to get a small alternative.


So tldr, as the technology is rising we should build an ARM image, because samp is less popular than it was; and people don't want to rent servers anymore.

I took a look on some forums and people claim that recompiling to ARM is really easy. So why not?
einstamas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2020, 11:38 PM   #2
Markski
Big Clucker
 
Markski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: La Plata, Argentina
Posts: 133
Reputation: 59
Default Re: SAMP server for ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstamas View Post
I took a look on some forums and people claim that recompiling to ARM is really easy. So why not?
USUALLY compiling to another platform is as simple as letting the compiler know the target platform. But not always. Impossible to know without knowing what samp-server's code looks like, which I do not.

Regardless, it's 2020 and an ARM build for very much any server software is instrumental. Unless Kalcor presents a valid reason to not do this (other than not wanting to) we should keep pushing for it. I'm sure most plugin maintainers will provide ARM builds for their plugins immediatly if such a thing were to exist.

Last edited by Markski; 02/08/2020 at 05:41 AM. Reason: grammar
Markski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/08/2020, 12:14 PM   #3
BoOob
Big Clucker
 
BoOob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Internet/Hosting
Posts: 92
Reputation: 10
Default Re: SAMP server for ARM

To be honest with you ARM processor is a bit bad to run samp server with less lag, but it will cause horrible lagging on your server even if they built it for ARM but i think they will not even planning on doing this.
__________________
ElitesHost.com | Game Servers Hosting | WebHosting
24/7 Support | Instant setup | FR-DE-UK-US Locations
BoOob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Instail Samp Cpanel Into Website To Make Samp Server Panel MrTransport Scripting Help 6 14/08/2015 05:16 PM
Looking for SAMP Server Director "SAMP Server like owner" Johnny_Robins Server Support 1 19/06/2014 03:41 AM
Why does the samp website make connections to my samp server? r3ct Server Support 7 12/02/2014 02:16 PM
Errors With samp-server.exe / Errores con samp-server.exe DarkRk Scripting Help 5 17/05/2013 07:23 PM
Is SAMP/Hosting a SAMP server illegal? OGKushStyles General 5 11/11/2012 01:47 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.