SA-MP Forums

Go Back   SA-MP Forums > SA-MP Server > Server Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30/01/2018, 02:55 PM   #1
elmadafakaloko123
Little Clucker
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0
Default no-ip with vps

Hi everybody, i have a problem because i dont know how i can put in my vps a no-ip adress, i tried but i cant, anyone have a guide or something ?
elmadafakaloko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30/01/2018, 02:59 PM   #2
Fratello
Huge Clucker
 
Fratello's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Howard University
Posts: 325
Reputation: 38
Default Re: no-ip with vps

Do you mean, add a hostname like my-sampserver.com instead of an ip?
__________________
"It's not what you expect from life; But what life expect from you!"
Fratello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30/01/2018, 03:59 PM   #3
edyun
Big Clucker
 
edyun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 145
Reputation: 8
Default Re: no-ip with vps

That is called a Record A DNS, when you want to redirect an ip like , 127.0.0.1 to something like test.******.com, you need to have an internet domain for this and a web hosting plan, or a server to host your domain.
__________________
edyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30/01/2018, 04:58 PM   #4
Sew_Sumi
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Azerbaijan
Posts: 6,455
Reputation: 525
Default Re: no-ip with vps

There is no guide... This is simply a dynamic domain host. You run the client on your machine and your IP gets forwarded to their server and they update the hostname.

If you want your home connection with the domain, just run it on any of your internal machines, and make firewall rules to point to your internal server. The IP for your outer connection will be found, so whichever machine inside that runs it, won't matter. Some routers/modems even have support for DynDNS, and other groups.

If it's on a server you'll need to either install the client on the server, or, in the management section on the DNS site, there should be some way of manually putting one in.

If it doesn't work, or it's too tricky, try FreeDNS. They're very useful and have many domains to pick out. All able to configured via the web panel.

All you need to do, is as above mentioned, change the A record and point it to your server.

Once it's done it won't need to be renewed for a certain time. (FreeDNS is you have to login to their control panel every 6 months to keep your hostnames active)
Sew_Sumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30/01/2018, 05:30 PM   #5
edyun
Big Clucker
 
edyun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 145
Reputation: 8
Default Re: no-ip with vps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sew_Sumi View Post
There is no guide... This is simply a dynamic domain host. You run the client on your machine and your IP gets forwarded to their server and they update the hostname.

If you want your home connection with the domain, just run it on any of your internal machines, and make firewall rules to point to your internal server. The IP for your outer connection will be found, so whichever machine inside that runs it, won't matter. Some routers/modems even have support for DynDNS, and other groups.

If it's on a server you'll need to either install the client on the server, or, in the management section on the DNS site, there should be some way of manually putting one in.

If it doesn't work, or it's too tricky, try FreeDNS. They're very useful and have many domains to pick out. All able to configured via the web panel.

All you need to do, is as above mentioned, change the A record and point it to your server.

Once it's done it won't need to be renewed for a certain time. (FreeDNS is you have to login to their control panel every 6 months to keep your hostnames active)
Beautifully explained, just need to +rep for your time invested, this is what keeps SA:MP alive
__________________
edyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.